The Liebster Award


بِسْم الله الرحمن الرحيم

 
I was happy to learn that I was nominated by the wonderful Rachel From Sea of Beauty for the Liebster Award which is a fun way for other bloggers to get to know me and my blog better by answering a set of questions Rachel prepared. 

Thank you very much Rachel for giving me the opportunity to join in a Q&A sort of post. I find these fun to do 😀

Let’s go to the questions and answer….

Who is your role model? Why?

I have quite the few of role models. Some I have met in person, while others, I haven’t. Some are from my time, while others are from History. I didn’t get the chance to be here in this life while they are alive, but I read about them in books or heard/learned about them from others.

If I have to choose just one? …ذhmmm, I think I would go for: Sheikh Rashid Al Maktoum

الله يرحمه إن شاء الله.

As to why? It is mainly due to the following: his courage, vision and humble personality. In additions, he played a positive role in this world and I love that.

I only got the chance to learn about him years after his passing (whether in history books or from people who met him). I love what I learned about him.

He played a giant role in transforming Dubai to what it is today. There were/are few other people who also contributed, but he was one of the first leaders. They say that starting the thing is always the most challenging; whatever that thing is, be it a project, product, master piece or whatever; starting it is the most challenging especially when you get discouraged by the “experts” who try to convince you that your idea is “crazy” and that it is impossible to achieve it of make it a reality. That is exactly what Shailh Rashid succeeded at doing regardless of the discouragement from the “experts”. He had the courage , vision and faith.

Sheikh Rashid bin Saeed Al Maktoum was responsible for the transformation of Dubai from a small cluster of settlements near the Dubai Creek to a modern port city and commercial hub.

Source: https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Rashid_bin_Saeed_Al_Maktoum

He was a very humble person. So humble. And contributed at improving other people’s lives.  I believe that every person CAN contribute at improving other people’s lives/leaving a positive impact in this world. You don’t have to run a nation or city or country to do so. Things can be simple and also cost you nothing. For example, smiling at others has a positive impact on them ; or just being kind to them and many more examples one can do. We are all here for a certain period of time and I believe in doing positive on this planet.

What is one thing you’ve always wanted to try but haven’t?

Publishing a children’s book was always something I wanted to do. I was suggested to do it by others who saw my photographs of my pets with captions I write under each photograph. Since I enjoy doing this so much, my want to publish such a book started. Maybe one of these days

Where is your favourite place you have ever lived?

I’ve only lived in Dubai, so I don’t have experience with living elsewhere.

I would like to experience living in Japan if I was ever giving the opportunity to and learn Japanese.

What is your favourite lipstick colour?

Colors in the pink shades are is my all time favorite. My favorite color can change depending on time and season, but I always see myself get back to the different shades of the pink color.

If you could only use one beauty product for the rest of your life what would it be?

My eyeliner ^_^

What never fails to make you smile?

Most animals, especially dogs, and innocent children/babies.

What shampoo do you always go back to?

Herbel Essence. It smells so good.

What is something that is always in your purse?

My iPhone. I am a technology lover, so my iPhone is always in my purse.

How did you choose the name of your blog?

That is who I am today. My role as a mom started 10 months ago when my boy was born. it has actually started since the day I was pregnant , so even before his birth.

I started this blog, Emirati Mama, mainly because of starting the journey of motherhood.

Emirati means: UAE National (it is like saying Canadiam or German or American..etc).

And

Mama means “Mum” in the Emirati dialogue. Emirati people speak Arabic, but we have the local dialogue which uses some words slightly differently than the Classical Arabic. “Ummi” for example is the word for “mum” in the Classical Arabic. .

Where is your favourite place to travel to?

Without naming a specific place, I generally love to travel to a place with beautiful scenery and nature.

I have the following questions to pass this fun award to…

What is your favorite book?

If you could live in a book, TV show or movie, what would it be?

What was your dream job growing up? 

If you could have one superpower, what would it be and how would you use it?

What makes your happiest? 

How would your best friends describe you?

What is “home” to you?

What teacher inspired you the most? How did they?

What’s your fondest childhood memory?

What personality traits do you like in other people? What about Dislike ?

How did you come up with the name of your blog? Do you see yourself changing it in the future ? 

I would like to nominate the following blogs:

Mummy On My Mind

Freckles and Cheeks 

Yallah Mommy 

Me and the Bump 

Feel free to participate too if your blog wasn’t listed above. Enjoy and have a wonderful day 🙂

One thought on “The Liebster Award

Leave a Reply

